a French Foreign Legion Forum

Welcome! Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Question about the modern day Foreign Legion

spooker

Reaction score
Home Country
India
From what I've read the Legion has always had the 'rough' edge over most other armies since its inception and most Legion memoirs up until the 90's confirm it, indeed that roughness might have gotten lesser since its inception in 1831. Does the modern day Legion have anything of the old Legion in the 90's and early 2000's still in it, with regards to toughness and roughness that is (anyone currently serving confirm?).
Please pardon any unspoken errors that I might have made since this is my first time creating a thread on this site and since I haven't been near anything military (in reality that is) in my life please forgive if I have made any mistake on that front.
Just curious about this outfit is all.
(Roughness as in harsh discipline, punishments etc.)

Last edited:

USMCRET

Reaction score
Home Country
United States
I can tell you of my experience and the experience from what I see in post from legionnaires, the experience is that each generation changes and adapts to technology, tactics, and their personnel. Sure, there is a very common tradition thread that runs from the beginning and all through the generations. Traditions are what make an organization, its history and its culture.