Kiwi in Need of Change

Reaction score
Best answers
Home Country
New Zealand
Hi all,

I've always been interested in military service, and while my home country, New Zealand and my country of residence, Australia both have a military, I'm reluctant to join as I've heard you receive incredibly good training, but are not likely to be able to put it to use, i.e go on deployment, therefore ive always had a interest in the French Foreign Legion.

I have no military background/experience, in fact I've been a Bartender/Barista as the only job I've ever had for the past 5 years, and while I enjoy it and everything it offers, you can only be told "this latte isn't hot enough" by an angry elderly person, or asked for a free birthday drink by obnoxious drunk girls on a girls night out, before it begins to get a slight bit old and stale, therefore I'm looking for what I would consider to be a much more fulfilling line of work.

I keep fairly active (go to the gym accross from my house, walk to/from work each day, go the beach and swim etc.) But what are some key fitness points I will need to achieve in order to pass selection? Am a non smoker and drink socially with workm mates

Additionally, in regards to a short term stay Visa, which I believe I can already obtain having a New Zealand passport, will I need a return ticket, or will saying if asked about only having a one-way ticket that I am going into the FFL suffice?

Any other things that you can suggest in regards to the selection process is greatly appreciated,

Regards
Jack

Last edited:

Joseph Cosgrove

Legionnaire
Reaction score
Best answers
Home Country
New Zealand