Mallet finger

Good day,

I am a 27 year old wanna be legionaire.

I have a condition called mallet finger, my ring finger can't curl / bend all the way in as it is stiff from the middle knuckle. I if I make a fist it looks like I'm flipping someone off. Would this disqualify me during medicals?

I can still grip weights, do pull ups, push ups on my knuckles etc.

Joseph Cosgrove

Legionnaire
I Robtm7 and welcome to the forum. I'm not a doctor but I wouldn't give you much chance of getting in with mallet finger. I admit I'd never heard of it before, but the fact that you can't bend your finger or fingers for that matter, in my opinion would be a disqualifier. Sorry mate.

Hope you can get that fixed. Pinky on my right Hand is bent..broke it as a kid & it sort of Set itself slightly bent :cool:..remember in Training being told to put my fingers together when I salute... I explained & they just laughed. Your Problem will no doubt need surgery if they can sort it...good luck

Joseph Cosgrove

Legionnaire
1539083453541.png this is a photo of yours truly in central Africa. I've had my ring and pinky fingers broken in an accident in Chad, long story already told. Spent a year with pins in and then had to leave the REP because, even if I could get up the rope, the médecin chef head doctor wouldn't sign my REP clearance. Results: I cannot straighten or bend my pinky, which is a must -bending- when climbing the rope which is a must in the REP.

View attachment 4027 this is a photo of yours truly in central Africa. I've had my ring and pinky fingers broken in an accident in Chad, long story already told. Spent a year with pins in and then had to leave the REP because, even if I could get up the rope, the médecin chef head doctor wouldn't sign my REP clearance. Results: I cannot straighten or bend my pinky, which is a must -bending- when climbing the rope which is a must in the REP.
shame...but at least you did it Joe...you did your time..

SnafuSmite