a French Foreign Legion Forum

Welcome! Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

QUESTION Questions of medical nature, place of joining, personal objects and overall camaraderie in the Legion

Reaction score
Best answers
Home Country
Brazil
First, as a custom, I will introduce myself: (This is an open forum. You do not have to say anything personnel about yourself. However, if you should give your true name and any personnel details such as medical, psychological or criminal problems, this may jeopardize you chances when you try to join).
My name is Anthony, I am 18 years of age and I am a waiter/food deliverer and I am currently studying law in a somewhat good university in my country. I have been lurking in the Forum for some years, but never actually posted or created an account. I've wanted to join the legion for about 4 years, but personal developments have hindered me from joining this year (2021). I can read and understand french very well, but I don't speak it so good at all, which is something I will improve a lot before going. I am planning to go in the latter part of next year's, which I believe is when I will be physically, psychologically and linguistically ready.

I have a couple of questions which I would be very thankful if answered, since I did not found any answers online:

1- I did a surgery to fix a Boxer's Fracture when I was young (punched somethung drunk and broked my smallest hand finger). However, this poses no problem for me or my hand whatsoever. I can do any kind of movement with it and there is no problem. I do have a (very small) scar from the surgery. Will this fail me in the medical exam or drastically reduce my chances?