Salut, I'm a South African preparing to go.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Euan

Reaction score
Best answers
Home Country
South Africa
Je m'appelle Euan,

I would just like to introduce myself. I am 25 years of age and preparing to join the Legion towards the end of the year or perhaps sooner should I feel the need to. I am studying French and training especially for the opportunity to be part of the Legion. I would like to thank this forum and its members for all the great hints and tips.

I stay currently in Cape Town, South Africa. I also have a lifelong friend who also plans on joining me on this mission.

I have just one question (which I did see posted in another post, but wasn't sure how true it was), can you transfer money after completing basic should you need too? I was thinking of investing some of what I earn.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions on my training strategy or any other questions or answers.

voltigeur

Legionnaire
Reaction score
Best answers
Home Country
Canada
Yes you can, but you would have to be a Scott, Jew or a Dutchman to have money left over to invest.

Last edited:
OP
E

Euan

Reaction score
Best answers
Home Country
South Africa
You right about the scott part, but in all seriousness what can I expect to honestly blow my money on while there? Are the whores that expensive?

belabok

Reaction score
Best answers
Home Country
South Africa
(...) and things you buy privately to improve your issued gear.
Yes absolutely true and it is a lot. Initially I could not understand that, but now I do and understand why. What they earn in Euro's might sound like a LOT in SAR, but remember expenses are also in EURO. dis kak en betaal boetie.. and end of day there is really not much left for "investment". You living a wet dream if you think you will be able to make bundles of money while serving in legion..

You join the Legion because:
1) it is a calling
2) You really fvucked and have no other option